To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

'Call Of Duty: Modern Warfare' Ditching Prestige For New System

'Call Of Duty: Modern Warfare' Ditching Prestige For New System

Out with the old.

Ewan Moore

Ewan Moore

There are more than a few big changes in store for the upcoming Call Of Duty: Modern Warfare reboot. Just days after Activision confirmed that the game would be losing loot boxes in favour of a Fortnite-style Battle Pass, it's now been revealed that the long-running Prestige system is being ditched for an entirely new progression system.

This news comes from a post on the Activision blog which details the two separate systems. In Modern Warfare, players will progress through Enlisted Ranks (1-55) by completing specific challenges and winning matches in order to unlock new equipment, weapons, perks, Killstreaks, and upgrades.


Once you reach the highest Enlisted Rank, you don't Prestige as you would have done in previous Call of Duty games. This means that all of the items and perks you've earned while playing through the Enlisted Ranks will stay with you, and you won't need to go through the entire process again after reaching the highest rank.

Instead, reaching the highest Enlisted Rank means you'll be able to transfer to the new seasonal Officer Ranks progression system, which isn't entirely dissimilar to the way Epic Games handles progression in Fortnite.

At the start of each season of content, you'll kick off as a Rank One officer, and will be able to gain experience and rewards in the same way you did with your Enlisted Rank. There are a few key differences between Enlisted and Officer, however, such as the fact you can progress all the way up to 100 in Officer.

There's also plenty of officer-specific challenges to complete, and doing so will help you to earn a shiny ribbon next to your online name so that everyone knows how sick at Call of Duty you are. Reach 100, and you'll get an animated ribbon and a special gun that you can boast about to all your friends who will inevitably talk about what a massive loser you are behind your back.

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare /

At the end of every season, your Officer Rank is ultimately reset, and you'll have to complete new challenges and win more matches to rise through ranks of the new season. Again, though, your Enlisted Rank stays the same so any functional weapons and items you've earned are never taken away from you

Losing the Prestige system will certainly feel a little strange at first for some of the more seasoned Call of Duty veterans out there, but this new seasonal progression system certainly sounds like it should help keep things feeling fresher and less grindy for longer.

Featured Image Credit: Activision

Topics: Modern Warfare, Call of Duty, Activision