HAVE A VIDEO YOU WANT TO FEATURE ON OUR PAGE?

Submit Video

To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Not now
OK
Advert
Advert
Advert

EA just lost a massive chunk of players' save data forever

Catherine Lewis

Published 
| Last updated 

EA just lost a massive chunk of players' save data forever

Featured Image Credit: EA

Bad news for Madden NFL 23 players - EA has confirmed that it’s unable to recover a large proportion of player data that was corrupted due to a storage issue last week.

Advert

As Ars Technica reports, on 26 December, EA acknowledged the connection issues that some Madden NFL 23 players were facing when attempting to connect to CFM. This wasn’t a short-lived problem - it was announced on 28 December following some maintenance that the issue was fixed, but another far worse one had surfaced

Take a look at the trailer for Madden 23 below.

Loading…

Advert

Unfortunately, players who attempted to log into Madden 23’s Franchise leagues in a specific window between 28 December at 19:45 UK time (2:45pm EST), and 05:45 UK time (00:45am EST) on 29 December were unknowingly caught up in a storage issue. EA claims that anyone who logged in during these hours (specifically into Franchise leagues) has had their Franchise files corrupted as a result. The devs clarified that anyone who didn’t log in during this timeframe is completely safe.

“First off, we are sorry that this happened. We know how important your franchises are to you and we are actively working on a fix to restore some files via a backup as soon as possible,” the devs wrote on the EA Answers site. “However, not all affected leagues can be restored. The team is currently projecting around 40% of leagues to be recovered. We will communicate an updated timeline next week around the potential restoration of save files from a backup.”

Affected players have been encouraged to simply “start a new franchise”, which is probably the last thing anyone wants to hear, especially when it’s estimated that 60% of affected players won’t be getting their data back. It’s not clear how many people had their Franchise files corrupted in the first place - under the devs’ response, 112 said they had experienced the issue, but this number is unlikely to account for everyone.

Topics: EA

Catherine Lewis
More like this
Advert
Advert
Advert

Chosen for YouChosen for You

Xbox

Xbox's best exclusive in years is finally hitting rival platforms

12 hours ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read