To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

'The Last Of Us Part 2' Wins Game Of The Year At The Golden Joystick Awards

'The Last Of Us Part 2' Wins Game Of The Year At The Golden Joystick Awards

'Hades', 'Fall Guys', and 'TLOU2' were clear winners at the awards.

Imogen Mellor

Imogen Mellor

The Golden Joystick Awards are one of the events of the gaming calendar that celebrates what developers have achieved over the last 12 months. It's a time to pat everyone on the back, admittedly some more than others, as we reflect on what the best games and achievements of the year are. And for 2020, The Last of Us Part 2 got quite the reception.

Naughty Dog's emotional dystopian rollercoaster was bound to do well for awards this year as many thought it was not only technically brilliant, but had an important narrative. It tells the story of Ellie five years after the events of The Last of Us and although some critical responses weren't glowing, many praised its emotive gameplay and hard-hitting plot. As a result, The Last of Us Part 2 won Ultimate Game of the Year as well as Best Visual Design, Best Audio and PlayStation Game of the Year.

Other big winners at The Golden Joystick Awards included indie favourite Hades which won both Best Indie Game and Critic's Choice. Fall Guys also did really well winning Best Multiplayer and Best Family Game.

Fall Guys: Ultimate Knockout /

The Golden Joysticks also have awards designated for each platform, so the Xbox Game of the Year went to Ori and the Will of the Wisps while the Nintendo Game of the Year went to Animal Crossing: New Horizons. The PlayStation Game of the Year went to, of course, The Last of Us Part 2 and finally the PC Game of the Year was awarded to Death Stranding which was ported over from PlayStation this year.

Other prizes went to Call of Duty: Modern Warfare for Esports Game of the Year, Minecraft for Still Playing and Best Gaming Community, and God of War: Ragnarok for Most Wanted Game.

Minecraft /
Microsoft, Mojang

One of the biggest hits in games this year has been Innersloth's Among Us, which people have been playing non-stop despite originally coming out back in 2018. Although Among Us didn't win any award, the team at InnerSloth won the Breakthrough Award as a celebration of the sudden success the game has had.

You can see the full list of winners over on the GamesRadar+ website, and you can see all of the nominations for the awards here

Featured Image Credit: Supergiant Games / Naughty Dog

Topics: Among Us, News, Death Stranding, Fall Guys, God of War: Ragnarok, HADES, The Last of Us Part 2, Minecraft, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare